Skip to content ↓

Sir Christopher Hatton


Nace Award

Read our press release here...

 Sir Christopher Hatton Academy is the 84th school nationally to achieve the prestigious NACE Challenge Award for excellence in provision for More Able, Gifted and Talented Pupils for the second time. Re-accreditation of this Award is given for sustaining high quality work by the whole school, teachers and governors, in challenging all pupils, including those with high abilities, to achieve their best over the last four years.  Sir Christopher Hatton Academy remains the only school in Northamptonshire to have the NACE Challenge Award.

NACE Chief Executive Rowena Gaston said: “Sir Christopher Hatton Academy has worked hard to win NACE Challenge Award Re-accreditation status. It has shown itself to be committed to developing a school where all pupils are challenged to be the best they can be. The more able and talented children are challenged and this helps the other learners to see what can be achieved.”

The award is given by NACE: the National Association for Able Children in Education, a leading national education organisation and registered charity established for over 30 years. The association exists to help the daily work of teachers providing for pupils with high abilities whilst enabling all pupils to flourish. It provides advice, training and resources for teachers, including the NACE Challenge Award Self-Evaluation Framework which Sir Christopher Hatton Academy has used to audit and plan what it provides for more able, gifted and talented pupils. Many thousands of primary and secondary schools are using The NACE Challenge Award Framework to develop their work.

Assessors, who spent a day in the school, were impressed by strong leadership and management of provision which keeps the needs of more able learners at the forefront of the school’s work and the good support and challenge provided by the Governors.

Assessors judged the quality of the school’s work by observing lessons, interviewing the pupils, teachers, parents and governors and by looking at the pupils’ work. To achieve the award for a second time is most challenging, and the award is only given when schools demonstrate that they have sustained a high level of quality provision over the last four years and addressed any development points from their last assessment. Finally, they will need to show that they are committed to continuing to ensure high quality provision for more able, gifted and talented pupils for another four years.

June 15

Rowena Gaston, Chief Executive